NotificationEventArgs

Nov 13, 2012 at 8:13 PM

Hello!

Where would be a good place to start with using the NotificationEventArgs? I looked at the documentation and it didnt help as much as i would have liked. What I am trying to do is have a View for a status String and a Status Progress Bar (which other views can access). I know i have to use the NotificationEventArgs but i am not sure how to implement them into my project. If it would help, I could post some sample code.

Thanks,

zs

Coordinator
Nov 13, 2012 at 9:53 PM

Check out my blog post on modal dialogs, which uses NotificationEventArgs to facilitate two-way communication between a ViewModel and View.

http://blog.tonysneed.com/2011/01/28/tackling-the-problem-of-modal-dialogs-in-mvvm/

Cheers,

Tony

Nov 13, 2012 at 11:38 PM
Edited Nov 13, 2012 at 11:39 PM

After reading through the blog, I am still a little confused on exactly how I can translate that to my purpose. I am just getting started with MVVM and I can honestly say, my head is spinning!

For clarification on exactly what I am doing, I have 2 views. I have a view that outputs the data that is being processed and another view that shows the status. (I have it that way because I will have Many Views that will use the Status View.) All I can see with the NotificationEventArgs, I can only pass a single string. I need to be able to send a string and a double. Does this mean that I would have to create 2 NotificationEventArgs?

Thanks

zs

PS. thanks for the quick reply

Coordinator
Nov 14, 2012 at 12:30 AM
From the sound of it, you may not need NotificationEventArgs, but you may just want to bind each of your two Views to the same ViewModel. For that just create a ViewModel by adding a new item. That ViewModel will have properties which the Views will bind to. There are a number of steps you need to take. Have you watched the Getting Started video tried repeating those same steps? That will help you climb the learning curve.

Cheers,
Tony