Beginner seriously in need of a simple example

Mar 11, 2012 at 6:10 PM

I've been trying to setup data-binding to a listbox for a few days now. I don't have any idea how to do it using simple mvvm. Can someone please for god sakes provide a small sample project that does listbox data binding using simple mvvm?

Mar 14, 2012 at 1:48 AM

The documentation has an example in getting started, I think.

Once set up properly, the binding is no different from any other binding example.

When learning to use the toolkit,  I followed the example for my first three or four views.  Look for articles by Josh Smith for MVVM

Here is a pretty simple example of databinding.

http://www.codeproject.com/Articles/26031/Simple-WPF-databinding-with-some-additional-WPF-go

Ken

Mar 14, 2012 at 4:05 AM

Ken,

I ended up finding some tutorials.I'm actually a beginner to C#.

What I am trying to achieve now is:

Currently, I have 3 views each with seperate viewmodels. I have an application bar located on the main view with a "Refresh" item. The main view has a pivot control setup that pivots to the 2 other views. When I press the refresh item in the application bar I want to call a function (both are different functions) located in the current view/view model in the pivot.

Do you think you could point in the right direction or give some sort of sample?

Thanks,

Julio

Mar 14, 2012 at 6:30 AM

Ok, I was able to get it working for one function using the MessageBus. Is there a way to know which view is loaded in the pivot?

Mar 14, 2012 at 7:34 PM

Unfortunately, I am running on Visual Studio Express and the advanced projects won't load, so the example of the message bus have been unavailable to me in a functional way.  I wish some of these concepts had simple one form examples.

below is some code that I use to open a View and get its datacontext. I am using an Event Handler to pass data back and forth from a dialog view. Not sure if that is what you are looking for.