Async & Threading

Dec 26, 2013 at 1:18 PM
Just to preface, I am fairly new to WPF and threading... What is the best method when calling a long running ServiceAgent? I'm basically getting data from our system through an existing API. The call on the API can take up to 3 minutes depending on the data requested. I want my users to be able to continue working while the data is being retrieved.

Currently I am using the following:
        Task T = new Task(() =>
            {
                base.Model = serviceAgent.GetJob(JobNumber, JobASM);
            });
        T.Start();
Is this the best method for background threads from a VM or is there a better approach?

Thank you,

Brent
Dec 26, 2013 at 2:43 PM
Edited Dec 26, 2013 at 2:45 PM
Here's what you need to do. First, define a method in the service agent interface that returns a Task<T>:
public interface ICustomerServiceAgent
{
    Task<Customer> GetCustomerAsync(int id);
}
This makes the method awaitable, so that you can use the async / await pattern for performing long-running tasks asynchronously. The nice thing is that this pattern automatically puts you back on the UI thread, so that you can update view-model properties that are bound to UI elements. If your long-running task is IO bound, such as a web service or database call, then it probably exposes an awaitable method that you can call from within your service agent. This code sample awaits a Task.Delay to simulate the IO operation. If your task is compute-bound, you can run it on a thread pool thread by calling Start on a new Task, as in your snippet.
public async Task<Customer> GetCustomerAsync(int id)
{
    // Simulate long-running task
    await Task.Delay(TimeSpan.FromSeconds(5));

// Executed after delay
    return new Customer
    {
        CustomerId = id,
        CustomerName = "John Doe",
        City = "Dallas"
    };
}