WPF and Silverlight in the same solution

Nov 30, 2011 at 7:05 PM
Edited Nov 30, 2011 at 7:08 PM

Hi,

First, great thanks to you Tony for your Simple MVVM Toolkit, it rocks!!  I love the simplicity of your framework, the templates you supply, your videos and your documentation is real good. 

I'm learning a lot with it all and I'm really looking forward to try it more!

Here's the concern I have in mind. 

First some background. 

I'm new to MVVM (and using WCF abd WCF Ria Services) and learning about it. I tried a few approaches but with no great success.  

I work for a small company and we are making small custom solutions for our clients, with no reselling of the solution after, it's theirs.  So, our solutions can afford to be more simple and won't change a lot after their done.

I have an idea but I wanted to check out if it was good before investing too much time in it for nothing.

What I had in mind is a solution which integrated views in WPF and inSilverlight (in two different projects), with the possibility of using the same viewModels and services.  

I experimented with a solution like that (from a tutorial I found; you have two different project (one WPF and one Silverlight) and using a link on the viewModel) but I had problems with adding properties to my entities(EF) with a partial class.  The examble was using WCF (not Ria Services, well, as much as I can tell) and I read that WCF doesn't pick up the extra properties added to an entity via a partial class but that Ria Services would do that (maybe it is wrong, but it's what I read on a few blogs).  This is how I found your framework (looked at MVVM Light first, which lead me to your framework and I liked your's better) .

If I stick with Ria Services, is it a good idea to have WPF and Silverlight in the same solution and can it be done? Will I have a problem of some classes not available on one side or the other (Silverlight vs .Net 4.0)?